Sign In

Faculty Excellence Award

Faculty Excellence Awardees 

Each year, SCC recognizes one full-time faculty, one adjunct faculty, and one adjunct Continuing Education faculty with a Faculty Excellence Award. Nominations are submitted by faculty, classified staff, students, and administrators.

Recipients are recognized at the annual SCC Recognition Awards Ceremony during the spring semester. The adjunct winners each receive $250 and a plaque. The full-time winner receives a plaque and a $2,500 stipend for the lecture to be presented the following fall semester.

Nominations and selection of winners typically occur during March and April. If there is a tie, the Faculty Recognition Committee will vote for final selection. Past recipients are not eligible for re-nomination. Only the full-time recipient will have the opportunity to be nominated for Orange County Teacher of the Year.

Past Full-Time Faculty Award Winners:

​Rick Adams                 2009
Joe Geissler              2019
​Maureen Roe              2008
​Robbie Miller           2018
​Ian Woodhead            2007
​Lisa Camarco           2017
​​Cari Cannon                2006
Barry Resnick           2016
​Leah Freidenrich         2005
Michael DeCarbo     2015
Marcelo Pimentel        2004
​​Denise Foley             2014
​John West                     2003
Craig Rutan               2013
​Elizabeh Elchlepp        2002
​Corinna Evett           2012
​​Bob Ash                        2001
​Alex Taber                 2011
​​Rosi Enriquez               2000
​​Larry Ball                   2010
​Terry Tomlinson          2000, Continuing Education


Past Adjunct Faculty Award Winners:

​Rick AckermanLisa Hermen
​Lynnette Beers-McCormack​Kirby Matter
​Emma BreedenGregory Sebourn
​Shane CadmanMike Varisco
​Phillip CrabillLothar Vallot
​Julie DavisMelody Vaught
​Linda Dressler​Karen Hersom       2017
​Dora EscobarSheryl D. Donchey     2018
​Greg Kishel​​Alana Gates    2019


Past Continuing Education Adjunct Faculty Award Winners:

​Leslie Crucil​​Dawn Thurston
​Mina Esfandiari​Ann Wu
​Futoshi Nakagawa
​Clarice Da Fonseca   2017
​Jennifer RinconAdriel Samaniego    2018​
Denise Salcido​​​​Rocio Silvia Diaz     2019
​Michelle Sandoval