Sign In

Faculty Recognition Committee

​Welcome to the Faculty Recognition Committee website! We are proud to recognize colleagues who reflect the true essence of leadership, collaboration, dedication, positive attitude, and professionalism.  

We extend a special appreciation to the Santiago Canyon College Foundation Board of Directors for its generous contributions. We also thank  the Hawk Bookstore, Publications, Graphic Communications, and the Academic Senate for their insight and contributions.


To recognize and celebrate excellence in faculty accomplishments, achievements, and contributions that serve to advance the mission of Santiago Canyon College and reflect our institutional values.


  • To honor both individuals and teams of faculty for exemplary accomplishments, recognition and/or service
  • To administrate the Faculty Excellence Awards
  • To create an annual catalog of faculty awards and milestones
  • To ensure parity for memorial and service awards


A faculty member appointed by the Senate will serve as chair.


One faculty member from each of the following instructional areas:

  •     Business and Career Education
  •     Continuing Education
  •     Counseling and Student Services
  •     Fine & Performing Arts and Communication
  •     Humanities and Social Sciences
  •     Library
  •     Mathematics and Sciences

Faculty Excellence Award

One full-time faculty award winner is selected each year, representing both SCC and Continuing Education. Nominated by faculty, classified staff, students and administrators, this award recognizes outstanding achievement in the subject discipline, representation of faculty concerns, instruction to students, and participation in professional organizations. Faculty Excellence Award winners will be included in the pool of nominees for Orange County Teacher of the Year.

One adjunct SCC faculty and one adjunct Continuing Education faculty are also selected each year for an Adjunct Faculty Award.

Orange County Teacher of the Year​

Facilitated by the Orange County Department of Education (OCDE), the Orange County Teacher of the Year (OC TOTY) program recognizes outstanding teachers in Orange County. SCC will nominate an eligible Faculty Excellence Award winner for Orange County Teacher of the Year.

State Academic Senate Awards

The Stanback-Stroud Diversity Award

Named for former Senate President Regina Stanback-Stroud, honors faculty who have made special contributions addressing issues involving diversity. One person receives a cash award of $5,000 and a plaque. A call for nominations goes out in December with an announcement letter, application, criteria, and scoring rubric. This is a Senate award, is sponsored by the Foundation for California Community Colleges for $5,000, and is presented at the Spring Academic Senate Plenary Session each year.

The Hayward Award

The Hayward Award is conferred upon four faculty members annually who have been nominated by peers from their college. Named for former California Community College Chancellor Gerald C. Hayward, the award honors outstanding community college faculty who have a track record of excellence both in teaching and in professional activities and have demonstrated commitment to their students, profession, and college.

The Exemplary Program Award

Established in 1991, the Exemplary Program Award recognizes outstanding community college programs. Each year the Executive Committee of the Academic Senate selects an annual theme in keeping with the award’s traditions. Up to two college programs receive $4,000 cash prizes and a plaque, and up to four colleges receive an honorable mention and a plaque. The call for nominations goes out in October with an announcement letter, application, criteria and scoring rubric.